Books To Read If You Loved ‘The Summer I Turned Pretty’!

Summer is a great time for catching up on new reads! If you can’t get enough of The Summer I Turned Pretty, consider adding these books to your list!

The new Amazon Original The Summer I Turned Pretty is based on the book by Jenny Han, who is the creator and executive producer of the TV Series. The show was released on June 17, 2022, and has already made it to #1 in the US on Prime Video. 

It’s Not Summer Without You by Jenny Han

It’s Not Summer Without You is the second book in Han’s Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy. The show has already been renewed for a second season which is why this is at the top of the list. 

To All the Boys I Loved Before by Jenny Han

If you are a fan of Jenny Han, then you already know that The Summer I Turned Pretty is not her first book series picked up by a major streaming service. To All The Boys I Loved Before is the first book in its trilogy and served as the inspiration for the Netflix films. 

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Virtually any Colleen Hoover book could fit nicely on this list, but this particular romance novel has a movie adaptation in the works.  Jane the Virgin star Justin Baldoni is developing the It Ends With Us movie through his Wayfarer Studios.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

For those who enjoy stories that take place in an idyllic setting like Cousins Beach, E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars transports you to a private island off the coast of Massachusetts where a seemingly perfect family spends their summers. The book is a psychological thriller with romance, and drama, and won the Goodreads Choice award in 2014.

People We Meet on Vacation by Emily Henry 

If you loved TSITP, you likely appreciate a good friends-to-lovers romantic trope. Another Goodreads Choice award winner, People We Meet on Vacation follows the story of two best friends who have taken one glorious week of vacation together every summer for a decade. 

Today Tonight Tomorrow by Rachel Lynn Soloman

If enemies-to-lovers is more your thing, Today Tonight Tomorrow is a pre-summer romance following two high school archenemies. If you were #TeamBelly, you will be #TeamRowan from chapter one!  

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

The season finale of TSITP was an absolute tearjerker so If you’ve run out of tissues, you may want to hold off on this read. However, Second Chance Summer is a great choice for fans of the show, as the book is all about second chances with family, friends, and love.

About the Author

Olivia Weinsten

Olivia Weinsten is a student at Tulane University. She is currently an intern at AfterBuzz TV and Better Together with Maria Menounos.